Team S-Club Drifting at Meremere & Me Ranting About my Travel

On my 20th birthday I received a book titled “Roam, The Art of Travel” written by New Zealand author Deane Starnes.

At first sight I didn’t think much of it, a thoughtful gift, a few well written lines and some colourful pictures at most. However at the end of last year while going through the piles of stuff in my room I stumbled back onto it and as I shifted the old Prodigy record I had purchased at the Amoeba record store in San Francisco I noticed for the first time a quote lingering there on the back cover.

“The world is a book and those who do not travel, read only a page.”
– Saint Augustine

Sounds pretty legit huh? Well, thats because it is.

When you travel, the people you meet, the places you visit and the things you do give you real tangible perspective relative to your current way of thinking. They make you appreciate the simple parts of life that are often taken for granted and help you clarify the unimportant that is actually quite important.

Cliché?

Yeah I guess.

Clothing and hair, cellphones and kicks become pathetic superficial notions quickly forgotten about as you travel, discover and experience the crazy awesome world we live in. Shit like who’s the best photographer and all the bullshit internet small talk made rapidly become footnotes on a very large page of life.

I guess its it’s all too easy to get lost in the smokescreen of commercial consumerism and isolated from what really matters to us.

And yeah, I’ll put my hand up, I’m guilty too.

Fortunately for me there is an antidote, a cure if you will.

And its girls drifting and all its social aspects.

Two weeks ago I battled against the wind and rain at a grassroots drift day run by team S-Club at Meremere. And pants on the ground, it was one of the best run days I’ve attended. Typical Auckland weather with 4 seasons in one day battered the single section of tarmac throughout the daylight hours, but neither the rain nor cold spells do anything to dampen the driving with dudes ripping from early morning to late evening.

All the regulars were attending with some even sporting a few new modifications since I last saw them.


Like Simon and Nick from Garage H with their jungle-gym tire rack, new intake and turbo setup.
(pics of said jungle gym to come)

And Joel from C’s Garage testing his S13’s new power plant.

Several different course configurations kept the track fresh and drivers challenged with only one minor crash during the day. The damage appeared minor but the driver was unfortunately grounded with some electrical problems for the rest of the afternoon.

The day was almost over as soon as it began and with the sun low in the sky and hitting the rain-swept tarmac I packed my bags and headed for home. It’s exciting to know that it’s not long before I’ll be seated between two unhappy people, in a cylindrical coffin, 35000ft above the Pacific Ocean. Although, I’ll admit that’s not the part that excites me.

It’s the excitement I get from traveling.

And it’s strange how liberating it feels being by yourself so far from home. It’s as if being geographically severed from your friends and family changes you, and I guess it probably does because people act different in different situations. Regardless though, I’m eagerly looking forward to my next trip which begins in early June and see’s me heading back to the USA and to Japan for the first time!

I leave NZ on the 16th and I’ll be spending the majority of my time in Pennsylvania working at a summer camp for kids. The camp runs for 2 and a half months and I get a couple of weeks to roll through the east coast after it finishes, so I’m hoping to be able to make it to some local drifting or maybe even a FD round.

So if you know of anything coming up be sure to drop me a line!

Thanks for reading and a huge thanks to Tarran and the guys from Team S-Club

PS. Sorry about the lack of shit lately and I know the article is hit and miss
Bear with me, I’ll update this post with more pics in the coming days.

Matt

5 thoughts on “Team S-Club Drifting at Meremere & Me Ranting About my Travel

Leave a Reply

